Under the Skin

Director: Jonathan Glazer

Writers: Walter Campbell (screenplay), Michel Faber(novel), 1 more credit »

Stars: Scarlett JohanssonJeremy McWilliamsLynsey Taylor Mackay | See full cast and crew »

Under the Skin  has been adapted for the screen by Walter Campbell & Jonathan Glazer. I have to confess that I have not read the book and really wasn’t surprised to find out that the author  is male.

Jonathan’s previous directing effort,Birth,was delightfully eccentric and this latest offering certainly lives up to his standard. Scarlett Johansson plays an Alien that roams around Scotland looking for morsels to send back to a corporation on her home planet where they will be prepared and devoured.  The film has stripped the narrative down to its bare bones and Jonathan has very tastefully presented us with a minimalist, creepy and enthralling insight into the Aliens struggle to perform her job.

The scenes that captured the  men’s journey to the Alien planet are among my favorite, however the entire film is stunning in appearance and tone.

Some of the scenes, particularly the forest ones and the ocean ones reminded me  slightly of Stalker. Mainly because of the way that they were shot. The length of them and the style in which they were presented.

The rest of the film comes across very much like a modernized 70’s style art flick that is very impressive and really hard to ignore. If you didn’t enjoy 2001 or Stalker you may not really like this one either. I don’t think having a sneak peek at this plot spoiler before watching the film would hurt either, that is if you haven’t already read the novel.

The film has garnered some excellent reviews from critics and is generally thought to be of a high-caliber, personally I agree and vote this one to be 10 out of 10.

Under the skin has been nominated for six awards although sadly went home empty-handed, which is quite puzzling considering last years alternatives. I am very interested to see what Jonathan will come up with next. Whilst the film was released in 2013 I will be adding it to my favorite films of 2014 list.

I hope you get a chance to check this one out and I really do hope that you enjoy it as much as I have.

13 thoughts on “Under the Skin

      1. Wasn’t out then. But is now.

        And wow. Your comparison to 2001 is not far off, as it is a similar, in a way, experience. Such a good flick.

    1. I don’t know, for a cinephile it would be touch and go, basically I think it would come down to preference of style. I am not sure that you would like it actually . I can’t wait to read your review 🙂

    1. I have seen both of them and Don Jon as well. She is definitely stepping up her game, however It is not really her performance that made the film so good, It was obviously the director.

    1. I liked this and enemy but I’m looking forward to Frank. I hope it doesn’t bomb 🙂 Maybe that’s a good thing . That her booty didn’t sell tickets. Either way it seems undderrated. You are right 🙂

Leave a Reply

