Enemy

Director: Denis Villeneuve

Writers: José Saramago (based on the novel by), Javier Gullón

Stars: Jake GyllenhaalMélanie LaurentSarah Gadon |See full cast and crew »

Well I’m very ill at the moment and uninspired so if you have come to my page to find out whether or not to go and watch enemy then I highly recommend it. Go and watch it and spend money on it or watch it at home on DVD, I don’t think it would make much difference it would probably come down to personal preference.

Alas I had to watch it on a 22 inch screen so I felt a little robbed. Jake was exceptional in this film so don’t miss it, there’s another film out at the moment which has some similarities to this one entitled the double I would be more reluctant to recommend the double.

THIS FILM CONTAINS  an abstract plot/story-line, excellent performances by the actors (especially Jake), A visual art house experience  and may require a small degree of research into the book and it’s author either before or after viewing,

I love these kind of films , the kind that ask the viewer to interpret the creators vision, possibly existentially. There isn’t a conundrum with a wrapped up conclusion tied neatly into a bow (or is there?). I found myself wanting more after the film and began reading articles on the book and it’s author to better understand the creation that is Enemy.

Please make an effort to view the film and I do hope that you enjoy it as much as I did. Don’t feel cheated just fill in the gaps yourself.

ciao

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Enemy

  1. Good review. A lot of twists, a lot of turns, and a whole lot of confusion. Yet, it all worked for me, even if I didn’t fully understand everything that was being thrown at me.

  2. I am going to give the Double a view up next, hopefully like it better than you did, but doubt it will top this even though I am a fan of Ayoade

Leave a Reply

