Gravity

Director: Alfonso Cuarón

Writers: Alfonso CuarónJonás Cuarón1 more credit »

Stars: Sandra BullockGeorge ClooneyEd Harris |See full cast and 

Oh fuck I am floating in space, lucky there is an experienced brave and heroic man around to save my ass it’s not like I’m a trained gravity-movie-review-space-earthastronaut or anything, but wait I did have a few sessions in a flight simulator at Nasa, that’s why they saw fit to send me on a space mission because I’m an inexperienced, hysterical woman that can’t cope with stress, emergencies or apparently fend for myself without the encouragement of a roughhousing man with a heart of gold who’s willing to risk his life to save me. I’m astronaut BARBIE.

Fast forward to about 30 minutes later, now I kind of have it gravity-movie-review-sandra-bullock-shioptogether since I have followed the experience and wisdom of my much braver and knowledgeable male colleague babysitter but I am going to give up because as  Alfonso Cuarón would have it I have run low on oxygen and am hallucinating (but am I?- insert religious reference here as to not offend viewing public that are scared by technology and science) .

Well it doesn’t really matter if I am or not because after a few explosions I go flying back to earth when my capsule doesn’t disintegrate upon reaching the earths atmosphere and I tumble out onto the beach wearing shorty shorts not an adult diaper which surely would be quite messy by now.

Gravity is an excellent action adventure film if you can ignore it’s blatant sexism, pandering to the religious sector and Sandra gravity-movie-review-space-2Bullocks so so performance.

I liked this film, it was an adventure and despite the overt sexism in the film I was pleased to see a female lead in an action adventure flick, especially a sci fi one since it’s almost my favorite genre. Gravity is definitely worth your time but is not an oscar worthy, (or perhaps it is considering what is oscar worthy these days) film.

6 out of 10

References,: Wikipedia, Google Images, IMDB

8 thoughts on “Gravity

Leave a Reply

