Frances HA

Director: Noah Baumbach

Writers: Noah Baumbach (screenplay), Greta Gerwig(screenplay)

The first film I saw that changed my life was funnily enough E.T. Watching it as a very small child I learned to question the universe for the rest of my life. The second film I saw that changed my life was 2001 A space odyssey,  (that one doesn’t need explaining), when I was 16,then there are of course all of Lynch’s films which expands one mind exponentially.   The Third film I have seen that has changed the way I will view cinema forever and has re invigorated my love of all things film is Persona, then along comes a little independent film by none other than Noah Baumbach & Greta Gerwig.

I have of course seen many of Noah’s films to date and although I have enjoyed them nothing could of prepared me for the experience of Frances Ha.

I am pleased to say that as of 2 hours  ago when i officially began watching this delightful carefully put together film project that was clearly made from love itself, I instantly fell face forward into frances world and never want to leave it.

Frances Ha will forever be a part of my life as much as air is to my lungs. As you can probably tell I am far too emotional to write a technical review at the moment but I will say that this film is perfect, (which will do for now).

It has everything you could want, and everything that any aspiring film maker would ever want to achieve.

Frances Ha is an instant classic and will forever be one of my all time favorite films ever made.

10 out of 10.

7 thoughts on “Frances HA

  1. Sweet and pleasant little movie that shows us exactly what life is all about, the hardships one goes through, but, at the end of the day, you have yourself and you’re alive and that’s always something to be happy for. Good review.

    1. thanks. I loved the way that the film was in essence a portrayl of the demise of frances’ great love which she grapples with throughout the film even until the end. In the end scene you can still see her pain of loss in her last look at sophie before she is thinking about moving on to her next great love. The undatable Benji.

      1. Very true. Also, that last shot of where we finally get to understand what the title means was a very nifty move on Baumbach’s part, but also touched me a bit as well.

      1. I agree. Just every move that these two made together worked out well, which surprised the hell out of me because I usually despise most of Baumbach’s movies.

      2. greenberg was a bit of a disaster but I did enjoy margot at the wedding and the fantastic mr fox although not nearly as much as frances ha. I am just glad they made it, it and persona have renewed my love of cinema.

Leave a Reply

