Grey Gardens

Grey-Gardens-DVD

Directors: Ellen HovdeAlbert Maysles2 more credits »

Stars: Edith ‘Little Edie’ Bouvier BealeEdith Bouvier BealeBrooks Hyers | See full cast and crew

Grey Gardens is a 1975 documentary film by Albert and David Maysles. Ellen Hovde and Muffie Meyer also directed, and Susan Froemke was the associate producer. The film depicts the everyday lives of two reclusive socialites, a mother and daughter both named Edith Beale, who lived at Grey Gardens, a decrepit mansion at 3 West End Road in the wealthy Georgica Pond neighborhood of East Hampton, New York.”-wikipedia.

This documentary is utterly enthralling, it completely fascinated me on so many levels and raised so many questions.

About a year after I watched the documentary I watched the film starring drew Barrymore and Jessica Lange.

7 out of 10.

5 thoughts on “Grey Gardens

      1. Thanks. I think I need to watch more documentaries, I’m noticing a huge gap in my knowledge of that type of filmmaking. Thing is, if a topic doesn’t really interest me I’m not going to seek out a film about it, but I always learn something new watching a docu, so maybe I should “force” myself and try harder.

Leave a Reply

