My Dinner with Andre

my-dinner-with-andre-1

Director:Louis Malle

Stars:Andre Gregory, Wallace Shawn, Jean Lenauer | See full cast and crew

Andre, a middle aged theatre director who is definitely in the midst of a mid life crisis and wallace a desperate broke playwright meet for dinner. The film takes place over the dinner conversation between the two and the first half is Andre gabbering about his 1st world mid life crisis, the second half is both of them discussing the human condition and state of first world society.

It’s boring, some of the writing is titillating but the bulk of the  conversation is mainly pseudo intellectual philosophical and mum and pop psychology ranting, which I suppose is exactly what could be expected from thespians.

When andre was ranting about his trip around the world experiences I kept hearing carol kanes voice in my head repeating every word that he said.

I am not sure that I would recommend this to watch, however a lot of people love this film.

I will selfishly rate it as 4 out of 10 and welcome a healthy debate.

Leave a Reply

