Byzantium

byzantium3

Director: Neil Jordan

Writers: Moira Buffini (play), Moira Buffini (teleplay)

Stars: Saoirse RonanGemma ArtertonCaleb Landry Jones | See full cast and crew

It is so hard to rate this film, because there were some decent performances and storytelling in the picture however, I just didn’t like it. Would I have liked it if I had of seen it 10 years ago, probably more than I do now.

From a crusty old fart that has seen fads come and go I will give this one a generous 4 out of 10.

4 thoughts on “Byzantium

    1. I thought that the main 4 actors were great, even the storyline was o.k. but I have just seen enough vampire crap to last me a lifetime, is it so selfish to want something new?

      Sometimes the best stories are real and I like the way that documentary film makers have changed that genre forever, Even the based on true stories are getting better than previous ones.

      1. Yeah, I definitely agree. Filmmakers should at least try to do something new and be more ambitious. Just be true to your vision and be honest, like why is that so hard? Instead most fall into genre trappings and clichés. Oh well, I guess it’s easy to be critics, but I don’t know if I’d make better movies or tell better stories. What bothers me is that there are people out there with great ideas who have trouble getting their films financed and then there’s talentless hacks that can make a film every year with absurd budgets.

Leave a Reply

